Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dissertation Research

Submitted by kgranger on

Hi there, 

My name is Kate Granger and I am a graduate student at Iowa State University. I am doing my dissertation research on emerging adult daughters of incarcerated fathers. I am wondering if anyone on this forum can help give me some direction as to where to look for funding opportunities? 

Thank you in advance!

Submitted by employmentattys on Fri, 02/10/2023 - 17:20

Glad I see someone is searching something for uni.Me my self I'm in pursue of woman side when face employment issues.

For your side I highly recommend you to start from these

1. Mincy, R. L., & Shelton, T. W. (2010). Invisible bonds: The impact of incarcerated parents on children and families. The Future of Children, 20(2), 115-137.

2. Ghandnoosh, N. (2013). The intergenerational cycle of incarceration: How mass imprisonment makes poor children of color more vulnerable to future arrest. The Sentencing Project.

3. Foster, H., & Tach, L. (2012). The effects of father incarceration on young children: Evidence from the fragile families and child wellbeing study. Journal of Marriage and Family, 74(2), 384-398.

4. Maynard, B. R., & Greene, S. M. (2011). Children of incarcerated parents: A review of the literature and recommendations for future research. Journal of Child and Family Studies, 20(2), 191-202.

Submitted by tsudhaansh on Sun, 09/24/2023 - 07:59

Hello Kate Granger, it's great to hear about your dissertation research on emerging adult daughters of incarcerated fathers. Securing funding for your research is an important step, and there are several avenues you can explore to find funding opportunities:

1. University Funding: Start by checking with Iowa State University's research office or graduate school. They often have resources and information about internal grants and fellowships that may be available to graduate students.