Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Grants help to create Physical/ Mental Wellness zones for Staff

Submitted by Harris-Goard on

Good morning, I have been working in Virginia Department of Corrections for over 30 years. I am in a program in which I have to come up with a project for Corrections. I am trying to create a Physical/ Mental Wellness Zone for staff. I just need help with who could help the institutions come up with the funding to create a building or even just an extra room for staff to have these options. Can someone tell me can the state institutions get grants for this. I am looking out for staff because the inmates here are offered why more than the staff. 

Submitted by DrRamisBratt on Tue, 12/12/2023 - 17:37

For creating a Physical/Mental Wellness Zone for staff in the Virginia Department of Corrections, you may explore several grant opportunities and resources. Here's some information I found that could be relevant:

Office of Behavioral Health Wellness (OBHW): Part of the Virginia Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services, OBHW focuses on promoting behavioral health wellness through various strategies. They are involved in numerous initiatives, including substance use prevention and mental health promotion, which might align with the objectives of your project. You can learn more about their initiatives and potentially relevant opportunities here.

Community and Faith-Based Organization Micro-grant Opportunity: Announced by Governor Glenn Youngkin, this program allocates a total of $800,000 for micro-grants to support mental health and substance use prevention, treatment, and recovery services. Although these grants are primarily for community and faith-based organizations, the nature of the funding and the focus on behavioral health might offer insights or opportunities for collaborations that could benefit your project. More information on this program is available here.